Penn State Berks Senate

Penn State Berks Senate

Penn State Berks Senate

The Penn State Berks Senate is the representative body of the faculty with authority on all matters that pertain to the academic interests of the College and on all educational matters that concern the faculties of the College. Among the matters within the legislative jurisdiction of the Penn State Berks Senate are:

  • Educational philosophy and policy
  • Instructional programs
  • Courses and programs of study
  • Academic admission standards
  • Graduation requirements
  • Scholarships and honors
  • Academic standards for intercollegiate athletic participation
  • Access to library and information systems for academic purposes

The Senate also acts as an advisory and consultative body to the Chancellor of the College and to the University on any matter that may affect the attainment of the educational objectives of the College.

Senate Meetings

Senate Meetings will be held in the Perkins Student Center Multipurpose room (unless noted). All meetings will take place from 12:15 - 1:15 PM. Senate meetings are open to all those who are interested, although only Senate members can vote.

Chair's Annual Report

Senate Roster (DOC) (Updated October 4, 2015)

Fall 2016 Semester Meeting Dates

All meeting times 12:15-1:15

Executive Committee

Monday, August 29, 2016 (Gaige 206)
Monday, October 10, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016

Senate Meetings

Monday, September 19, 2016 (Gaige 121)
Monday, October 24, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016

Spring 2017 Semester Meeting Dates

All meeting times 12:15-1:15

Executive Committee

Monday, January 9, 2017 (Gaige 206)
Monday, February 13, 2017  
Monday, March 27, 2017

Senate Meetings

Monday, January 30, 2017 (Gaige 121)
Monday, February 27, 2017  
Monday, April 10, 2017

Please submit all committee minutes and other agenda items for Senate to the Secretary of the Senate at least one week before each meeting.

Penn State Berks Senate Officers and Committee Chairs

Senate Executive Committee

Mahdi Nasereddin, Chair and University Senator
Mike Bartolacci, Past Chair
Cliff Maurer, Vice-Chair and University Senator
Nathan Greenauer, Secretary
Mohamad A. Ansari, Parliamentarian
Martha Aynardi, University Faculty Senator
Steve Snyder, University Faculty Senator

Academic Affairs

Hassan Gourama, Chair

Faculty Affairs

Cliff Maurer, Chair

Intercollegiate Athletics

Bruce Hale, Chair

Physical Facilities and Safety

Jennifer Hillman, Chair

Strategic Planning and Budget

Malika Richards, Chair

Student Life

Amy Berger, Chair


Constitution and Standing Rules of the Penn State Berks Senate (updated November, 2012)

Penn State University Faculty Senate Web Page